Our Board

Margot Delafoulhouze | Chairperson

Margot leads ClimateWorks Australia’s Cities team, catalysing system-level transitions to net zero emissions in the urban environment. She has been driving change in the environment and climate space for nearly a decade, with experience spanning across research, corporate consulting, policy and advocacy. Margot previously worked as Head of Sustainable Cities for WWF France, leading advocacy campaigns and programs on local sustainability transitions. She believes in the power of informed and empowering community conversations to catalyse action to tackle the climate crisis and is passionate about the benefits it creates for the broader community.

Annie Chapman | Secretary

Annie has had a long-term interest in the environment sector throughout her career, working for many campaigning and advocacy groups. She was a partner at the global consultancy Towers Watson before establishing her own practice and becoming a leading consultant to the UK non-profit sector, specialising in people development. After moving to Australia, Annie changed direction, completing a Masters in Writing and Publishing at RMIT, and now focuses on non-profit publishing projects. Annie also sits on the Board of the Fitzroy Learning 

Network, has a Diploma in Charity Governance and is a Fellow of the Institute of Community Directors Australia.

Edward Stevens | Treasurer

Edward is a Chartered Accountant who has held various roles in five years of experience in public accounting with a focus on infrastructure advisory, financial reporting and assurance services. He is passionate about helping deliver on sustainable infrastructure and renewable energy projects, and the role that the government and private sectors have in creating a sustainable future. Since 2019, Edward has been a member of the Climate for Change Finance Subcommittee assisting in various financial oversight activities and responsibilities. Edward holds a Bachelor of Commerce (Honours) from Monash University.

Susan Phillips | Chair, Governance and Risk Subcommittee

Sue is passionate about environmental sustainability and climate change action. With a doctorate from Oxford University, she has extensive experience in executive leadership and change management roles at the National Institute of Clinical Studies, National Health and Medical Research Council and Therapeutic Guidelines Ltd. She was awarded an Australia Day Medallion in recognition of her work in closing evidence-practice gaps in Australian health care settings. She is currently an Honorary Adjunct Associate Professor within the Faculty of Health Sciences and Medicine at Bond University.

Joanna Cary | Governance and Risk Subcommittee

Joanna is a lawyer with 25 years experience in environmental law and policy. Currently a Senior Legal Policy Officer at the Victorian Environment Protection Authority, she has worked in a diverse range of organisations including government, leading Australian law firms, large corporates and small business. Joanna has a long history of volunteering in the not for profit sector as a legal adviser, mentor, Australian Youth Ambassador, Board member and Executive Committee member. She is a founding member and current Secretary of Lawyers for Forests Inc, an association of legal professionals advocating for the protection of native forests for the past 20 years.

Kevin Moreland | Fundraising Subcommittee

Founder of one of Australia’s largest advertising, digital and communication agencies, Kevin has over 30 years’ experience consulting and collaborating with all levels of government. He has played significant leadership roles in the development of globally recognised, evidence-based behavioural and social change campaigns. He believes organisational goals are best served when key audiences are at the centre of strategic development, implementation and measurement. He is a passionate believer in the pivotal role audience-centric, timely and well-executed communication can play to activate and empower individuals and communities.

Anna Gauchat | Fundraising Subcommittee

Anna is an Advancement Executive and team leader with international experience in the higher education and not-for-profit sector. She is driven to play an active role in mitigating climate change by enabling world-class innovation and discovery, and equitable access to education. Anna works with senior executives, board members, industry and philanthropists to secure transformational giving to scientific research, new technologies and student opportunities. She enjoys working with leading academics to co-design programs that deliver social, environmental and economic value while playing a leadership role in UNSW’s inaugural $650m fundraising campaign. She has completed an MBA (Technology) and is an observer of the Sydney Writers’ Festival Board through the 2022 AICD Board Observership Program.

Laura Whitford | Strategy Subcommittee

Laura has 17 years of experience designing and delivering partnerships, policy and programs focused on climate change, sustainable natural resource management and equity. In her current role as Director of Conservation Partnerships for The Nature Conservancy’s Asia Pacific region, she leads a team responsible for cultivating government, multilateral, corporate and civil society partnerships that support TNC in its goal to address the twin biodiversity and climate crises. She has a Masters of Environment and Development from the University of Melbourne.

Vicky Simister | Finance Subcommittee

Vicky is an MBA-qualified Chartered Management Accountant with 12+ years of experience and is currently Head of Finance Operations and Sustainability at Guardian Australia. She has served on several boards and committees in the environmental sector, including Surfrider Foundation and Outdoors People for Climate. Whilst living in the UK she founded a social justice campaign for which she won the Campaigner of the Year award. She is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and the Australian HR Institute. She is a fellow of the Observership Program, observing the board of Climate for Change throughout 2022 whilst volunteering as a member of the Finance and People & Nominations subcommittees.

Board Administrator: Adele Hirst

Our Board's subcommittees and external members:

Fundraising Subcommittee

Lindsey Ritchie (Chair)
Anna Gauchat
Kevin Moreland

Finance Subcommittee

Edward Stevens (Treasurer)
Vicky Simister
Carmen Agius

Governance and Risk Subcommittee

Susan Phillips (Chair)
Joanna Cary
Annie Chapman

People and Nominations Subcommittee

Annie Chapman (Chair)
Adele Hirst
Vicky Simister

Strategy Subcommittee

Margot Delafoulhouze (Chair)
Susan Phillips
Laura Whitford
Frances Medlock

Non-Board Members

Carmen Agius
Lindsey Ritchie
Frances Medlock
Adele Hirst

Aboriginal flag Torres Strait Islander flag

We acknowledge the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia, whose sovereignty was never ceded. We acknowledge that Indigenous peoples around the world are at the forefront of climate change, both in experiencing its effects and leading solutions for change. We pay our sincerest respects to all Elders, past and present.